Day 5

Thursday 16th February’s Menu

Breakfast: 

Cereal and Toast

Lunch: 

Spanish Baked Eggs

Dinner: 

Homemade Pizza

Snacks: 

Yogurt and Fruit

Lemon, Cardamom and Pistachio Cake

My kids have a proper addiction to Dominos Pizza. They won’t countenance pizza from any other place. This does not thrill me because A: It’s quite expensive and B: Salt laden and a source of much indigestion. I’ve been trying to find a pizza recipe that will work at home so I can steer them away from take out. I think I’ve finally got there but only with the help of two items. First is my bread maker. It was a Christmas gift from my husband last year. Admittedly I am only scratching the surface of what it can do but I LOVE it. It makes making pizza dough so fricking easy and more importantly less messy. I throw the ingredients into it, close the lid and forty minutes later I have my dough. This is great because with a family my size I usually need to make at least three batches of dough, and this overlaps just fine with the time it takes for the second prove and the baking of each batch. The other item that has finally cracked homemade pizza for me was investing in a pizza stone. This has been the secret to producing a really tasty, crisp base.

The Lemon, Cardamom and Pistachio cake I made today was adapted from a recipe from one of The Great British Bake Off’s contestants this year. It was amazing and I recommend you make it immediately and enjoy with coffee. I ate two slices it was so good.

Leave a Reply

