Halva Overnight Oats

Not long after Mr Teeny Baby was born I noticed that something wasn’t right. I couldn’t put him down without him screaming like he’d been lowered into lava. Then a rash appeared. I thought it was baby acne but it marched its way all across his cheeks, head and down onto his chest and back. A friend suggested to me that maybe he had a dairy allergy so I started on an elimination diet to see if this was the problem. To begin with I gave up soy, eggs, nuts and dairy and lo and behold his reflux improved and his skin cleared up. I then started the job of reintroducing foods. I was overjoyed to get soy, eggs and nuts back but it was months before his gut matured enough that I could reintroduce dairy (a visit to the allergy clinic that shown that he didn’t have a dairy allergy but an intolerance).

During the few months that I was dairy free I had this breakfast almost every morning. It is seriously tasty and so satisfying. If you’ve never had halva, it’s sort of like the Middle Eastern version of Scottish tablet. It’s made with tahini and honey. Try this breakfast if you can. I’m putting down the dairy-free version here (because that’s what I always had) but you can use regular milk and yogurt if you fancy.

  • 35g rolled oats
  • 5 tbsp milk (I used unsweetened almond milk)
  • 4 tbsp of yogurt (I used Alpro Soy Plain Yogurt)
  • 1 tbsp tahini
  • 1 tsp chia seeds
  • 3 dates, chopped
  • 1 tsp honey
  • Chopped pistachios to sprinkle on top.

Layer the oats, chia seeds and dates and top with the milk, yogurt, tahini and honey in a mason or kilner jar. Mix well, cover and refrigerate overnight. In the morning chop a handful of pistachios and sprinkle on top. Enjoy!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

