Easy Apple Turnovers

A few weeks ago I attempted to make a tarte tatin and I failed miserably. When I turned it out I had the most fantastically cremated cooking fail of my entire career. I blame the fact that I don’t have a gas hob, it’s hard to control the temperature and make caramel on my cooker. So I failed, but this did mean I had a sheet of puff pastry in the freezer (yes, yes I COULD make my own if I wanted to, but ain’t nobody got time for that).

This afternoon I found myself at a bit of a lose end. I had a few apples in the fruit bowl that were starting to look a teeny bit wrinkly so I thought I’d best use them up. These apple turnovers were easy to make and delicious over a cup of coffee and a chat when my husband got home from work.

 

  • medium apples, peeled and chopped quite small
  • tablespoons butter
  • 1/2cup packed brown sugar (I used golden caster sugar as I didn’t have any brown)
  • teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • teaspoons cornstarch
  • sheets of pre-rolled frozen puff pastry, thawed
  • Egg wash (1 egg beaten with 1 teaspoon water)

Preheat oven to 180oC. Put a large pan over a medium high heat and add the apples, butter, brown sugar, cinnamon and cornstarch. Stir to coat and then heat until the mixture is boiling. Reduce the heat and simmer for 5 minutes or so until the apples are tender. Take the pan off the heat and allow to cool slightly.

 

 

If you’re using a pre-rolled sheets of pastry (I did), unroll and use a pizza cutter to divide each sheet into 6 sections. Brush the squares with the egg wash and place a generous spoonful of the cooked apple in the centre. Fold over to form a triangle and press down to seal. Crimp the edges with a fork, brush the outside with more egg wash and then use a sharp knife to slit a couple of vents in the top of each turnover. Transfer to a lined baking tray and bake in the centre of the oven for 25-30 minutes until flakey and golden.

Remove from the oven and allow to cool before dusting with icing sugar.

One Comment Add yours

  1. threebrits says:

    Yum love apple turn overs these looks so tasty

    Like

Leave a Reply

